The Stranger

I finished this song on January 5, 2012. You can hear some of my music at chrismackey.bandcamp.com.

 

I sleep under a blank ceiling

My dreams rarely have a meaning

In between is a nothing that I created

I wake up mean, thinking of everything I ever hated

 

I think there’s a ghost living inside of me

It controls most of everything that I see

I walk on a wide road dimly lit by failure

The fear becomes a comfort, forgot it’s painful

But I saw a man with real flesh and blood on a different path

The road was barely there, but it was so lit up by the stranger’s laugh

 

I think there’s a ghost living inside of me

That other man’s ghost set me free

He said

 

 

You can be what you want to be

Life is not a prison, that theory is too easy

You can do what your father was afraid to

Thank god he had you so his spirit could see it through

Everyone’s gonna be proud of you


Leave a Reply

